Important information

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to Steel Media's privacy policy.

Steel Media websites use two types of cookie: (1) those that enable the site to function and perform as required; and (2) analytical cookies which anonymously track visitors only while using the site. If you are not happy with this use of these cookies please review our Privacy Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies some features of the site will not work.


Wild Blood Review

By , on September 6, 2012


Wild Blood
Download on the AppStore
4 out of 5

PROS

  • Interesting spin on the Arthurian mythos; worth playing just to see the story's conclusion.
  • Solid, simple controls; virtual stick and buttons respond perfectly, with 'invulnerability' animation frames giving players some leeway.
  • Plenty of customization options; specialize as you please.

CONS

  • No option to speed-up camera controls; sluggish response, especially on the iPad, and lacking smart positioning.
  • Multiplayer provides a nice distraction, but is otherwise shallow.
  • Rote execution of the genre; puzzle-chests attempt to break things up, but end up slowing you down more often than not.

VERDICT

The iOS platform has been aching for a solid beat'em-up and Wild Blood fills the niche perfectly, if with something that feels a bit flat in its execution; at least it's a nice change to beat up on demons instead of zombies or 'gods'.


  • Full Review
  • App Store Info
  •  

It may have taken some time for it to finally happen, but Gameloft have finally busted out their first Unreal Engine powered title for the App Store. For many people, such a thing is a minor concern, because - and let’s be honest - Gameloft titles have been far from ugly thus far. Wild Blood rides in on the heels of previous releases like Hero of Sparta, however instead of beating up Gods you’ll crack the skulls of various demons in this Arthurian-legend based beat’em-up.

irst and foremost, Wild Blood feels solid - nothing really feels out of place as you gracefully jump from enemy to enemy, deploy powerful spell attacks and soak up the coins while gathering your bearings and moving on. It’s a rote execution of the genre, but one that’s only hampered slightly by the sluggish camera that has a tendency to point in the wrong direction whenever possible.

Much like other genre classics you’ll find yourself picking up a handful of weapons, each with their own spin on the fire, ice and lightning spells you can deploy. Of particular note is the bow that requires a bit of aiming on the part of the player as it’s not quite a fire-and-forget weapon and feels almost like a pocket sniper-rifle if you happen to level it up.

In fact, leveling up is where you’ll be deploying most of your hard-earned gold, with each weapon having individual stats and spells to level up. Do you think the claymore is too slow? Start specializing in the twin-axes and you’ll chop down enemies just as fast, spinning and charging as you please.

If you happen to get sick of chopping down huge demonic creatures and their hordes you can take the fight online and pair up with other players in a team-deathmatch mode. Teamwork is essential as you fight to control temporary bonuses to out-scale the enemy - it’s not high strategy, but it’s fun to fight something other than a mindless AI drone.

Unfortunately you’ll be doing a lot of that in the singleplayer, and even the wonderfully varied worlds and enemies can’t stem that feeling of having done all this before - enter area, destroy all enemies, move on. The addition of puzzle-chests is a nice idea, but instead of building on the experience, it brings the otherwise frantic pace to a crawl. Thankfully your second time through the game (if you choose to play the harder mode) will be more streamlined as a result.

Repetition aside, Wild Blood still manages to keep you hooked with its brutal action gameplay. It’s great to see something so fresh from Gameloft and those itching for some beat’em-up gameplay now have a genuine must-have to check out.

Screenshots

Screenshot 1 of 8 Screenshot 2 of 8 Screenshot 3 of 8 Screenshot 4 of 8 Screenshot 5 of 8 Screenshot 6 of 8 Screenshot 7 of 8 Screenshot 8 of 8

Comments

Avatar
mykelfree 1 year, 11 months ago

I love appspy!I always watch/read appspy's review first before purchasing an app to see if it's worth buying. By the way, very nice review on Wild Blood! I am not a fan of this genre but I am thinking of buying this after seeing the review. The only keeping me is the chance that I might get this for free if I win..hehe.Thanks appspy!

Avatar
KibaKun 1 year, 11 months ago

I wonder who's gonna win this sweet giveaway! 

Avatar
Jackiii 1 year, 11 months ago

I like your reviews and I really hope I can win
 

Avatar
ZarieoZ 1 year, 11 months ago

Thank you soooooo much for the giveaway. kinda hard to win with your big fan base. Really hope to be lucky enough to win. Rted as @ZarieoZ too.

Avatar
Jomanimo 1 year, 11 months ago

Great review! I hope i will be one of the 5 lucky people who will get the code! 

Avatar
Kyrin 1 year, 11 months ago

I have to say that it looks amazing. The level-up system for the weapons is awesome and reminds me of God of War which is one of my all time favorite series, albeit a watered-down version. Still, still looks like a fun title to pick up and play whenever I have some time to burn(like my morning commute:D). Can't wait for the price drop!

Avatar
advaith77 1 year, 11 months ago

nice review 

Avatar
advaith77 1 year, 11 months ago

nice review 

Avatar
Dragongoose 1 year, 11 months ago

Please dont make me have to wait! 

Avatar
Dragongoose 1 year, 11 months ago

I want this app so badly but currently can't afford it, if I dont get a free code I might have to wait awaile before I can get a Itunes gift card and its killing me that I can't play this now. I am hoping I get picked. 

Avatar
Dragongoose 1 year, 11 months ago

Before this site I use to buy a lot of crappy apps, now I have a better understanding of what apps are good and which ones are not worth buying thanks to Andrew's reviews. 

Avatar
Ka3DX 1 year, 11 months ago

This is the first game from gameloft that doesn't bring any particular game to mind while watching gameplay, maybe I just haven't seen the game but it's definitely a first.

Avatar
Ka3DX 1 year, 11 months ago

This is the first game from gameloft that doesn't bring any particular game to mind while watching gameplay, maybe I just haven't seen the game but it's definitely a first.

Avatar
Ka3DX 1 year, 11 months ago

This is the first game from gameloft that doesn't bring any particular game to mind while watching gameplay, maybe I just haven't seen the game but it's definitely a first.

Avatar
Ka3DX 1 year, 11 months ago

ah crap what the hell, I don't know why it keeps posting my comment, I'm sorry I'm not spaming...

Avatar
spazmonkey667 1 year, 11 months ago

+1 contest entry

Avatar
theslitherydee 1 year, 11 months ago

I have been following your site for quite some time now and have introduced me to many of the games I consider my favorites, League of Evil being the first. This is my definitive site for opinions, due in great part to Andrew who has a very neat style of showcasing apps. I try to avoid making online accounts because I prefer anonymity. However everyone has their weakness and I have found mine is the word free. Like Superman with kryptonite I become weak and powerless in its presence, and no matter how much I know I dislike a genre I must get it if it’s free. However I like the fantasy genre games to the extreme. In a desperate bid to be noticed I will strike out in originality by employing reverse psychology and beg that you don’t give me a Wild Blood code.
Free cyber cookie for those who get my name.

Avatar
Zelam42 1 year, 11 months ago

Honestly, I think Gameloft have completely messed up their 2012 releases, but with this game, they're probably going to make a comebacl.

Avatar
Zelam42 1 year, 11 months ago

Sorry, comeback.
 

Avatar
Charpang 1 year, 11 months ago

This game looks like a great game. Kudos to the AppSpy team for all the great reviews. I could never decide what games to purchase without this site aiding my decisions. Good luck to everyone and may the odds be ever in your favor. Haha...

Avatar
fillyfog 1 year, 11 months ago

Appspy reviews ftw. A simple yet elegant comment.

Avatar
Ka3DX 1 year, 11 months ago

I wouldn't say elegant :P but definitely true

Avatar
iamacicada 1 year, 11 months ago

thank you appspy for giving us a chance to play the game

Avatar
Jomanimo 1 year, 11 months ago

Hmm.. Looks cool i hope i get the code! *wink

Avatar
Ralice 1 year, 11 months ago

Seems interesting. Hope I win. ;P

Avatar
Dragongoose 1 year, 11 months ago

But again please please please please pick me! 

Avatar
Jh247173 1 year, 11 months ago

I really hope i win the code! :P

Avatar
Dragongoose 1 year, 11 months ago

Same but I am not holding my breath 

Avatar
Jh247173 1 year, 11 months ago

I really hope i win the code! :P

Avatar
vinicius 1 year, 11 months ago

Nice game, useful review. Not only from this app but from all the others. I subscribed on the channel a few months ago and always look forward new reviews and new game apps to play, but at first i check out here. Good job man ! Willing to get the promo code!
Best regards

Avatar
Ausborn 1 year, 11 months ago

Would really like to play this game though it's a bit out of my price range for apps, hope i get a code and goodluck to the others i guess

Avatar
Dragongoose 1 year, 11 months ago

It does look like a great great review appspy 

Avatar
Dragongoose 1 year, 11 months ago

great game I mean 

Avatar
m115e 1 year, 11 months ago

This looks like a great game. Thank you appspy and good luck to all of you. 

Avatar
mostafa913 1 year, 11 months ago

hope i win the code >.<

Avatar
EasyMuffin 1 year, 11 months ago

Looks pretty, pretty good to me. Fantastic review as always, by the way.

Avatar
KibaKun 1 year, 11 months ago

I absolutely love games like this!

Avatar
NinjaCkid 1 year, 11 months ago

Sweet, I've been anticipating Gameloft's long-awaited Unreal Engine-powered release!! Looks great from the video, and thanks for such a detailed and honest review! AppSpy always helps me decide which games to buy!

Avatar
Jomanimo 1 year, 11 months ago

Finally, the unreal engine on a gameloft game.. i hope the release an update to fix the camera. i am looking forward to this!! (i'll save some money first)

Avatar
zero2 1 year, 11 months ago

Another great review from appspy. Always help me to decide whether to get the game or not. Keep up the good and indepth reviews!!!

Avatar
Kueltazar 1 year, 11 months ago

Looks good. I went for the Avengers game just because i love superheroes but it would be nice to try this one.

Avatar
testiq1234 1 year, 11 months ago

Please PLEASE pick me for one of the codes!I watch all of your reviews and have never won yet!

Avatar
Jomanimo 1 year, 11 months ago

Great Review Andrew!! 
Keep tr great reviews coming!
Please pick me :)

Avatar
Jomanimo 1 year, 11 months ago

*the

Avatar
timobrow 1 year, 11 months ago

Hey appspy! Your guys are amazing! I never buy an app that you don't review, and the reviews you make are in depth and reliable. This game looks really amazing, though it's really out of my price range for apps :/

Avatar
timobrow 1 year, 11 months ago

*you

Avatar
charleswjoke 1 year, 11 months ago

ME wants this!!!

Avatar
agleung 1 year, 11 months ago

So it is repetitive but also a must get? I wanna try just because it uses Unreal Engine. Graphics should be great.

Avatar
CaptainKev 1 year, 11 months ago

I have no job, no woman, and roughly a buttload of homework due in about 18 hours. The best part of my day is when I get to drop a deuce. The toilet is my sanctuary where I can sit down, relax, and play some iphone games. Please have mercy on my tortured soul and hook me up with a code for this game to make the best part of my day even better.

Avatar
Unknown17 1 year, 11 months ago

loook like an awesome game to have!, once agian a great review from appspy

Avatar
Mogismogi 1 year, 11 months ago

Nice review!

Avatar
gio1s 1 year, 11 months ago

haha just made an account!!! I love appspy! the game is by gameloft so I dont think I will ever get it. The game is also too big for my 7 gig iphone. oh well...

Avatar
Jastootie 1 year, 11 months ago

I love you Appspy! You guys give honest reviews that are intelligent, and not so shallow like most other video reviews. You talk about the pros and the con, and explain it all in-depth. Your written review always matches the video review, so we never feel like we have to also read the review after watching the video, and we can always read the review if we can't hear the sound. I always have your tab open on my browser, hitting refresh every few hours of every day! Don't know what I'd do without you guys (in terms of iOS gaming :p).

Avatar
Charly 1 year, 11 months ago

Hello Wild ones

Avatar
ipodlover87 1 year, 11 months ago

This game looks amazing and I always trust appspy's reviews so please pick me as the winner for the code!! :D

Avatar
aCCelerator 1 year, 11 months ago

Nice review , great game

Avatar
luxorder 1 year, 11 months ago

while i have been watching your videos from early 2011, i had never considered to register. But, with this promotion, it is too tempting not to.

Avatar
tatzuo 1 year, 11 months ago

owww dude it looks awesome
 

Avatar
tatzuo 1 year, 11 months ago

OOOOOOOWWWWW DUDE it looks awesome 

Avatar
tatzuo 1 year, 11 months ago

OOOOOOOWWWWW DUDE it looks awesome 

Avatar
kris4132 1 year, 11 months ago

Can I have a code pls? I am a very poor boy from Africa, with an Ipod & access to the internet

Avatar
Aaron134 1 year, 11 months ago

Game looks great! Hope I get picked! :)

Avatar
Neruzal 1 year, 11 months ago

yaaaay :D

Avatar
Dragongoose 1 year, 11 months ago

Like I said on the promo your not going to pick me no one ever does but please pick me for the free code just give this one. 

Avatar
Benste 1 year, 11 months ago

Great review! (as always) 
This game looks amazing. Please choose me 
:)
Thanks

Avatar
Baldemar 1 year, 11 months ago

i hopw i win the code

Avatar
riksai 1 year, 11 months ago

finger crossd, hopefully i get it for free....
r

Avatar
riksai 1 year, 11 months ago

hi i like the fact that gameloft is using unreal technology
cant wait to play with it if i win !
thanks
riccardo

Avatar
Itchigo111 1 year, 11 months ago

:o

Avatar
Eustas 1 year, 11 months ago

This app looks gorgeous

Avatar
Danio3PP 1 year, 11 months ago

Look realy great

Avatar
billysveen 1 year, 11 months ago

I'm up for a free game code.

Avatar
AlvinLKS888 1 year, 11 months ago

Thanks for another brief and straighforward review. Easier to get good games once they've been filtered, though Horn and this game seem like fun.
I guess it's "we comment, you decide" this time ;D

Avatar
NeoPhyRe 1 year, 11 months ago

Hmm, normally I check who made a game before watching its review, but this time I didn't. For some reason I as really suprised when I heard you say this was a Gameloft. Anyway, it looks amazing. I'll need to try it out. I'd say awesome review, but I haven't had a chance to see the game for myself :D

Avatar
dawnclover 1 year, 11 months ago

This game looks amazing!

Avatar
janwalter 1 year, 11 months ago

WILD BLOOD IS UNREAL!

Avatar
SeventhDragon 1 year, 11 months ago

This looks like an interesting step forward for Gameloft-- they appear to have fantastic talent in their studio and I look forward to seeing them utilize it more and more on their future titles. iOS is a great platform for accessible and affordable gaming and they could do it a great service if they can continue to inch out of their comfort zone.

Avatar
xman85 1 year, 11 months ago

Great review, very informative

Avatar
Jx00x 1 year, 11 months ago

Looks pretty good, great review, very helpful

Avatar
johnson88 1 year, 11 months ago

A fun game by gameloft and a awwsome review by Appspy!!

Avatar
Murdoc 1 year, 11 months ago

Must Win PROMO!! :D
Wild Blood strikes me as a wonderful step in the right direction for adventure gamers, sure its a lot of hack and slash, but an improvement on that dreadful succubus "samuri warrior" ripoff!
Love this site reviews, especially the (mostly) unbiased opinions ;)  Keep up the good work Guys!

Avatar
d3rfu5 1 year, 11 months ago

This game is awesome! I would love to try it out :D

Avatar
peter 1 year, 11 months ago

well rounded review, always mention any problems with a game which is much appreciated. Awesome looking graphics on this game, camera angle issues are usually prevelant in these type of games on ios but..i think i could live with it. thanks

Avatar
derekbegins 1 year, 11 months ago

the game looks interesting... not like MIB3 whih i got bored after playing it for a few days.. the only thing that i am very curious about are the skills and the controls.. definitely a game that i want to try someday =)

Avatar
alessandropercy 1 year, 11 months ago

Fantastic Review as always. I'm interested to see how the game stacks up in comparison to it console counterparts.

Avatar
Dejan 1 year, 11 months ago

Looks like a great game from what the review says. Don't mind that the gameplay is the usual 'kill everybody in sight and move on' if it's actually entertaining in the process. ;) Wasn't expecting much more than this from the game anyways.Thanks for the review!

Avatar
Incenity 1 year, 11 months ago

Thanks for the review ..   A gopd game from gameloft..

Avatar
Dreadtle 1 year, 11 months ago

Awesome, I wanted to get this game before and now I want it even more! :D

Avatar
Yano 1 year, 11 months ago

splendid review :)

Avatar
egege31 1 year, 11 months ago

nice graphics great review but the game is simple. You make quests kill monsters and go on. But graphics make this game great. Maybe thats an ordinary game but with these kind of graphics i will probably get this one :)

Avatar
cmvieira 1 year, 11 months ago

Woa, great game =) 

Avatar
thesinmaster 1 year, 11 months ago

Such a nice game could only be evaluated with proffesionals like you Andrew :)
By the way, probably you forgot to evaluate "SEQ" while you informed us all before it was published.
I'm enjoying it and I guess more will pick if you evaluate it too.
Regards
Serdar Sevindi

Avatar
Andrew30uk 1 year, 11 months ago

Looks really good could do with a little more variety though. Game loft needs to move away though from IAP in premium games seems a little underhand! Would love to play this game tho :)

Avatar
Andrew30uk 1 year, 11 months ago

Looks really good could do with a little more variety though. Game loft needs to move away though from IAP in premium games seems a little underhand! Would love to play this game tho :)

Avatar
Nichaos 1 year, 11 months ago

It a good game,nice storyline and graphic.But the only thing is the "hack and slash" game......they are many hack and slash game on App Store.

Avatar
dalbertson 1 year, 11 months ago

Great review, thanks for getting it out so quickly.

Avatar
Brozzs 1 year, 11 months ago

Solid hack and slash app created by Gameloft. Can't Wait to boot This baby up on the IOS, I really feel this app brings the "unreal" feeling to hack and slash apps, and of course great review AppSpy!!!!! I Hope To Win The Promo Code. And Good Luck To Others

Avatar
choocs 1 year, 11 months ago

Would love to see this game a go. Looks like another winner from Gameloft. Loving the Arthurian theme!

Avatar
shaajrocks 1 year, 11 months ago

Please God !!Make Me Win !!

Avatar
TamaskanLEM 1 year, 11 months ago

Ico of the Colossus (Horn) or God of War (this)? Hard to choose but both look amazing nontheless. 
 
The multiplayer is interesting, but I can't wait to see the boss fights in this game. Going to make stylish dmc style combo in this action title that most likely doesn't have any.

Avatar
IanFlaming 1 year, 11 months ago

Looks great and the controls seem to be responsive

Avatar
mike1919 1 year, 11 months ago

hopefully i win :) love you Appspy !!! And what an amazing game by the way :)

Avatar
Speed178 1 year, 11 months ago

An Unreal Gameloft game is the perfect game for iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad. Let us hope for the best that this game won't deal with any problems.

Avatar
simonli2575 1 year, 11 months ago

Here's my comment
Thanks for such great oppotunity to win an app :D

Avatar
simonli2575 1 year, 11 months ago

Here's my comment
Thanks for such great oppotunity to win an app :D

Avatar
Marxdiend 1 year, 11 months ago

Looks awesome! I definitely want to play it!

Avatar
Rynxie 1 year, 11 months ago

I been using this website to read app reviews and see what games goes free for a limited time. This is definitely my number 1 place for everything apps. I even recommend this site to other people. I decided to make an account to join this promotion and hopefully win a game.

Avatar
Dusty_Sombrero 1 year, 11 months ago

Wow, this game feels like it's going to really bring out the Unreal Engine's potential in many IOS and Android Apps. Of course, I would lvoe to get my hands on this game myself as the review above really helped me fall in love with it's uniqueness. This game really gives a good feel of the hack n' slash genre and it looks like it has taken a giant leap from Gameloft's previous series, Hero of Sparta I & II. This high-definition game really gives a good feel of Darksiders or God of War and I am a huge fan of both games myself so I would love to "touch" n' slash my way through this game on my Ipad. I wish luck to myself and others. Thank You for your fantastic reviews as always.

Avatar
Pfeiffer 1 year, 11 months ago

Looks great!

Avatar
jnthnavila 1 year, 11 months ago

Wow, huge giveaway by App spy!! I wanna this game!! Unreal engine ftw! 

Avatar
naamanm 1 year, 11 months ago

Cool game!!!

Avatar
poimgs 1 year, 11 months ago

seems solid

Avatar
atradees69 1 year, 11 months ago

Good luck :D

Avatar
Jfilesguy 1 year, 11 months ago

Glad to see Gameloft make another winner, but I do wonder why they couldn't have made this Hero of Sparta 3?

Avatar
Xirvet 1 year, 11 months ago

Good review and the game looks very nice. Glad to see Appspy is giving some free copies. Good luck to everybody !

Avatar
gooddeal 1 year, 11 months ago

Awesome review I hope I get the game

Avatar
szityu88 1 year, 11 months ago

I liked the review, the game seems awsome and it would be great to win it! :)

Avatar
mattcollyer360 1 year, 11 months ago

This game looks great, good work gameloft! I really want this for free so good luck everyone and thankyou Appspy team! :D

Avatar
briggsy 1 year, 11 months ago

Arthurian mythos + Solid gameplay + Unreal engine = more win then can be put into words!!!!!!!!!!

Avatar
Oilakis 1 year, 11 months ago

I like the game and i really want to get it for free :) Good luck to everyone

Avatar
nribins 1 year, 11 months ago

I would love to win this game! I'd like to see how it fares to Infinity blade! Thanks appspy for the chance! Hope i get picked! :)

Avatar
tupile 1 year, 11 months ago

Was expecting more from this game. Thanks for the well-formulated review!

Avatar
Pete1555 1 year, 11 months ago

Game looks good :)

Avatar
Oilakis 1 year, 11 months ago

I like the game and i really want to get it for free :) Good luck to everyone