Important information

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to Steel Media's privacy policy.

Steel Media websites use two types of cookie: (1) those that enable the site to function and perform as required; and (2) analytical cookies which anonymously track visitors only while using the site. If you are not happy with this use of these cookies please review our Privacy Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies some features of the site will not work.


Guitar Hero Review

By , on June 8, 2010


Guitar Hero
Download on the AppStore
5 out of 5

PROS

  • Console quality visuals and gameplay.
  • Challenge modes and separate rankings for Guitar and Bass.
  • Six rock tracks out of the box.
  • Unlockable customization features.
  • In-game music store.

CONS

  • So addictive that you'll wish more songs were released already.

VERDICT

All the quality and expertise that you'd expect from Activision has gone in Guitar Hero for the iPhone and is easily the premier rhythm game for your mobile device.


  • Full Review
  • App Store Info
  •  

It seems that when it rains at Activision, you can expect triple-A titles to pour on to the App Store. The (in)famous Guitar Hero franchise has landed on the iPhone and has almost literally blown the opposition out of the water with years of rhythm game design being packed in to this dense little App.

Gamers will get a chance to play the guitar and bass in this title, giving you more bang for your buck as you attempt to master each instrument and unlock new instruments and outfits to equip your rock-star. The usual tap controls are available in four portrait-oriented lanes, but the addition of slide to strum and play controls along with the ability to 'whammy' sustained notes make the game truly immersive to play. There are four difficulties available for each song, though veteran rhythm gamers will find only a moderate challenge at the highest level.

Guitar Hero is a feast for the eyes, with the signature fret-board design dominating the screen, while UI elements clearly indicate bonuses, special power charges and the time remaining for each song. The faded fret will give you a great opportunity to see your customized rock-star thrashing about the screen while special effects explode with frightening frequency.

Six hit rock songs come packaged with the App, but an in-game store has already been populated with song packs to keep you busy. Sadly the 3D backgrounds are disabled in anything less than the 3GS or third gen iPod Touch, but the gameplay remains absolutely flawless. Without a doubt a must buy title.

Screenshots

Screenshot 1 of 12 Screenshot 2 of 12 Screenshot 3 of 12 Screenshot 4 of 12 Screenshot 5 of 12 Screenshot 6 of 12 Screenshot 7 of 12 Screenshot 8 of 12 Screenshot 9 of 12 Screenshot 10 of 12 Screenshot 11 of 12 Screenshot 12 of 12

Comments

Avatar
Jack57 2 years, 3 months ago

Doesn't show up at 99c - what gives?

Avatar
Rafael_JVF 2 years, 11 months ago

I'm a guitar hero fan and I have all of them and would bn nice to have it free couse I don't have money now and Love your reviews :)

Avatar
nataly 3 years, 2 months ago

nice graphics...i like such games...

Avatar
Sites94 3 years, 8 months ago

Too bad its only avaliable in the US Store and not the Maltese Store :'(

Avatar
bonhovis 4 years, 1 month ago

Hi guys! After trawling through MANY app review sites to find detailed app reviews, I discovered AppSpy.com, by far the best one out there!  I enjoy your honest opinions, plentiful screenshots, and especially the video reviews which allow me to see the games in motion before I buy. I thank you as you've saved me A LOT of money by being able to see which games look good, but aren't actually that great! Haha although saying that, because of your expert reviews, I have bought many a game, and am rarely disappointed! Always checking in to see what has managed to earn itself a 5 rating :) 9 out of 10, these are the games that I actually stay on my phone so you must be doing something right!
So if you happen to be able to spare a copy of Guitar Hero to a loyal follower (and someone who likes to look like an idiot rocking out with his iPhone!), I would love AppSpy.com even more :D
All the best

Avatar
Xilverblack 4 years, 1 month ago

I love music games and Guitar Hero series is one of my all time favorite. Now here's the chance to take my favorite game on-the-go with me. I'd really like to win this copy.

Avatar
daniyal 4 years, 1 month ago

I really love these kind of games. I am also a huge fan of Tap Tap Revenge and I really want Guitar Hero but don't want to pay $3 for it. I really want this game because I was a big fan of it on the XBox 360. I hope I Win!!

Avatar
djarc9 4 years, 1 month ago

I have Guitar Hero 3 for the PC and it's awesome expect i don't always have friends around to play with but...each of us has iphones and right now our addiction is Rock Band over wifi with each other. Guitar Hero will be a welcomed addition to us...and if not for the other guys...i think it'll be my new addiction since the Tap Tap series (I have no life and i'm not ashamed) =)

Avatar
Vasshxpx 4 years, 1 month ago

I want free guitar hero for being the first game where wewe can have fun in playing our favorite songs from favorite bands in gaming, now I can play the songs on my own iPhone and have fun with it

Avatar
amd4846 4 years, 1 month ago

i want guitar hero free  because its better than rockband and the graphics look awesome

Avatar
burmart 4 years, 1 month ago

I'd like Guitar Hero because I've been bored on the toilet lately.  Seems like this would be a good way to solve that problem. 

Avatar
jkmcmillen 4 years, 1 month ago

I would love to own a copy of Guitar Hero because I'm too poor to own a gaming console because I have 36 mouths to feed. Right now, I have an extension cord run from the power line outside. I just filled the bed of my dualey with pond water so my kids and goats can get their weekly bath. It was a change from taking them to the car wash as we did last week. The only music that I've listened to for the past 6 months is performances from Leaf Trombone's World Stage. I cant get 'Auld Lang Syng' out of my head when I sleep now. Please help!

Avatar
cifuang 4 years, 1 month ago

I want to win because Guitar Hero was one of my favorite games of all time, and on my very first real game station which was a PS2.  Now that I have an iPhone, it would be a real pleasure to relive the memories I had before :D

Avatar
Druxasdo 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like to win the Game, because i am totally freakin about Tapp Tapp and Guitar Hero. I always played it on my Xbox 360 and i wish i'll win the Giveaway :)

Avatar
prognastat 4 years, 1 month ago

Me and my wife have pretty much every guitar hero available for the xbox and this would complete our collection of guitar hero games.

Avatar
coolcal 4 years, 1 month ago

I love music, and I'm a huge fan of tap tap revenge, so this is the game for me.

Avatar
Skatelakai 4 years, 1 month ago

I'm a big music game fan and there are very few games out there that are truly quality games.  the taptap games are good but still don't live up to the same degree of quality as the guitar hero series, rockband for ipod touch was not bad, but it wasn't excellent either.  This game though looks like it has what it takes to top every other music game out in the appstore right now and I would truly love to have the chance to play it.  This is why i'd like guitar hero for iphone.
 
I'd love to win.. but win or lose i'd still like to thank you guys for putting on a great contest!
 
glad i found this site, love the format of it/ the reviews.

Avatar
andyislegit 4 years, 1 month ago

Guitar Hero is awesome! I would like Guitar Hero becuase it looks mad and fun. I absolutely love to get it! PLEASE give me the game for free. If you do i would be very thankful. Also your reviews are very interesting to watch! (: Lastly, PICK ME!

Avatar
Nokterian 4 years, 1 month ago

Why i like GH? I played it a lot on my Xbox 360 and it's awesome there is a portable version for the Iphone,for traveling or playing with friends,why not play it where you want and also play your favorite rock songs on the go? That's why Guitar Hero is so great!

Avatar
DudeGamer 4 years, 1 month ago

I like Guitar hero because It is so fun and I like rock.. And I think it is a good game and I hope you will pick me :)

Avatar
pepto_20 4 years, 1 month ago

I Wanted guitar hero on my xbox and my wii... My parents told me that it was too adictive and they don't want me to play. This is an incredible occasion of playing guitar hero everywhere!! I am sure that it is better than guitar rock tour 2 put I still want to try... I want Guitar Hero on my ipod touch!

Avatar
vedder893 4 years, 1 month ago

i would like guitar hero free why is the original game, not a copy, is the best!!!

Avatar
Silverrider5 4 years, 1 month ago

I want to win the Guitar Hero app for my iphone because I enjoy great games, and your review totally convinced into wanting to get this game asap! However because of my love for good games i'm broke. I spent most of my money on other games like super Mario galaxy 2 etc...(dam 60$ games) and don't have enough left for this game until next month! =( I would really like to play this game because I love rhythm games and your review made it sound awwweeesommme! Would love to get this game so i can rock hard and rock it loud!

Avatar
Randomdude 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like the GH App because I am a huge fan of music games.  Like really REALLY HUGE fan you have no idea, but playing Tap Tap annoys me because I don't get to play real instrument notes and that's annoying since I am a real musician.  So I would be stoked to play Guitar Hero on the go man!!

Avatar
cymonis 4 years, 1 month ago

i always wanted a guitar hero on my xbox. but my parents sold it away and all i have is my ipod lol.... and i would like guitar hero to be inside my ipod and so i could bring it everywhere i want and play. i would definitely buy additionalsongs too

Avatar
jonathanober 4 years, 1 month ago

1) I need a music game on my iphone (iphone 4 coming soon!) 2) My daughter would rock out to this like there is no tomorrow. 3) Having beaten my recent Guitar Hero game I just need something new to play music too.
 
come on Andrew and the AppSpy team...pick me!

Avatar
Jordanw 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like the guitar hero app for free because I really like guitar hero games and don't want to miss out on playing it. I don't spend that much on apps so probably wouldn't get this game any other way. Also the website is great. PLEASE give me the game for free!!!

Avatar
superzack101 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like guitar hero because I absolutely love the series, and it's the only music game of this kind that I haven't played on the iPhone yet, and I really want to experience the unique play style that it offers.  I have the Tap Tap series and Rockband, and Guitar Hero would complete it all.  (It even looks better than those).

Avatar
paurian 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like it free because, as your review points out, it only comes with six songs and the rest have to be purchased. It looks similar enough to Tap Tap revenge with maybe a twist here or there that unless it was given to me, I'd never buy it. Tap Tap Revenge offers free songs that unlock at every level. After playing it for a week I already have over a dozen new songs to play.
I think the whole avatar thing is overrated, but you didn't even touch that aspect in your review. That's supposed to be one of the game highlights. It looks like Activision saw the money opportunity and ripped off TTR with their GH branding. So - what about it, Activision? Give out the game for free and you'll more than make up for the cost with all the add-ins people buy!

Avatar
Sagatron 4 years, 1 month ago

Thanks for the review!  From the sound of it, it seems as if GH is THE music game to have.  I would like to get a copy just to be able to see how good it really is and to satisfy my addictive personality. :)

Avatar
MattyDaMan 4 years, 1 month ago

I am attempting to add most of yere 5 star games to my fantastic collection. I would be honoured if ye picked me for Guiter Hero 5 - it is eagerly awaiting to arrive into my collection.
Please Dave and Andrew - consider me. Please

Avatar
sugimulm 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like Guitar Hero free because I never have played any version of guitar hero or even rockband. I never had any interest, but willing to see what the hype is. 

Avatar
kenneth1037 4 years, 1 month ago

I want to get Guitar Hero for free because we love free stuffs! I'm tired of tap tap revenge! I want to try new stuff! I played Guitar Hero on Wii and its totally awesome! Gimme Gimme Gimme Guitar Hero for FREE!! Come on~

Avatar
neoplayer 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like the guitar hero app for free bacause one, it will save me money, two, i've always been a fan of it and i want to try a different version and three because I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS APP SINCE I GOT MY IPOD TOUCH!!

Avatar
derodne50 4 years, 1 month ago

 i would like guitar hero because ive always been a fan of guitar hero and im very good, and i would like to try the newest adaptation of the series. and low funds

Avatar
derodne50 4 years, 1 month ago

 i would like guitar hero because ive always been a fan of guitar hero and im very good, and i would like to try the newest adaptation of the series. and low funds

Avatar
xjakes 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like the Guitar Hero app free because I unsubscribed to EVERY other App Store reviewer I was subbed too when I subbed to you guys because your videos are perfect in length, perfect review, good app choices, and awesome voice :). I also like Guitar Hero and Rock Band and all those good ol' music gaes.

Avatar
EMTKiNG 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like guitar hero for free because I cant go to E3 and I had a chance last year but I was in Chicago at the time and I hate my life ever since!!!

Avatar
NinjaCkid 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like Guitar Hero for free because I play guitar myself and I love the game on other platforms, It gives me a chance to actually play the songs I know and love in a game. With Guitar Hero on my iPod touch, I could play my favorite songs anytime, anywhere!

Avatar
sellar 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like Guitar Hero for free just because it is my favorite music game. and finally it has found its way to the AppStore. Thanks to the appspy I'm a fan of the iPhone version as well as I like its 'elder brothers (your video review is awesome).
Appspy is the nice site
As it seems just to me,
And the fun is to get
guitar hero for free!

Avatar
sergeantpop 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like guitar hero free because i was avidly watching Steve Jobs' keynote and your review thinking 'how much would I like this game' however i was unable to do so since i have no money to buy an iTunes card!
Tt would really help me if I could win it as I would be able to enjoy the excellent-looking gameplay and graphics sooner rather than later...

Avatar
jorge611 4 years, 1 month ago

i would like guitar hero for free because this game it's so awesome and i like to play it everywhere, ooh my god guitar hero on my pocket yeahh

Avatar
Tyler24 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like Guitar Hero because my iPod Touch is full of music apps. I love these apps especially the ones like Guitar Hero! The reviews for it are great and I own all the other console versions of this game.

Avatar
Casse 4 years, 1 month ago

I would love to have a copy of GH, because the great review says it's awesome :D I wouldn't pay for the game with only 6(?) songs, and some expensive in-app purchases :D

Avatar
nathanv 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like Guitar Hero for free because I want to buy the game but I have no money. :(

Avatar
ruphio 4 years, 1 month ago

"Why would you like Guitar Hero Free?"
Because Guitar Hero has always done it better than Rock Band! and this game should be awesome

Avatar
Tocarina 4 years, 1 month ago

It would be awesome if I would get GH because AppSpy is awesome too! (and because I want to own some sort of guitar)

Avatar
barus 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like Guitar Hero for free simply because its one of the best games for iPod and getting it free makes it the best :)

Avatar
nbwatson 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like guitar hero for free because it looks to e a great game

Avatar
Konzerv 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like Guitar Hero for free because I think it has a revolutionary gameplay.

Avatar
Sushi1995 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like Guitar Hero for free because i love this gameplay and i already have TapTap Revenge and that is not so good. Also I have guitar hero for my nintendo ds and now i wanna try this one for the iPod!
Good Review ;)

Avatar
harrisb123 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like guitar hero for free on my ipod because it was the first game i ever played. It also one of the only times me and my bro could bound. I would love to have to bring back memeries.

Avatar
cary1234 4 years, 1 month ago

Why would you like to play guitar hero is because this game is awsome!!

Avatar
camihq 4 years, 1 month ago

"Why would you like Guitar Hero Free?"
I love guitar hero,
so i want to try it on iphone.
I like music games and
tap tap revenge but
I think this is must better
than that, maybe?
so i want to give a try
for this game. :)
 
Thanks.
- cami

Avatar
britomart 4 years, 1 month ago

"Why would you like Guitar Hero Free?" - After a rave review like this, why WOULDN'T I?! :-)
 

Avatar
Arty29 4 years, 1 month ago

"Why would you like Guitar Hero Free?"
I would love Guitar Hero for free because my mates always steal my ipod to play taptap and with this I... wait... i'll never get it back! :@
Lemme start again, I would love Guitar Hero because then me and my gf can rock all night long! =D

Avatar
Arty29 4 years, 1 month ago

Sorry for double post delete is please :<

Avatar
Arty29 4 years, 1 month ago

"Why would you like Guitar Hero Free?"
I would love Guitar Hero for free because my mates always steal my ipod to play taptap and with this I... wait... i'll never get it back! :@
Lemme start again, I would love Guitar Hero because then me and my gf can rock all night long! =D

Avatar
AndreVader24 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like Guitar Hero for free because I'm only 15 and I don't have a credit card yet. We also can't afford it. :( Please give me a copy! :))

Avatar
jaimesco 4 years, 1 month ago

i would like it because im bored of tap tap revenge games and i want guitar hero for free!!!

Avatar
cerulgalactus 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like a free copy of Guitar Hero because then I will truly be An Guitar Hero.

Avatar
Pillz 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like Guitar Hero because i wanna try it, I like this kind of game :)

Avatar
Anonymous 4 years, 1 month ago

"Why would you like Guitar Hero Free?"
Because it's funny!

Avatar
manyax111 4 years, 1 month ago

Why would you like Guitar Hero Free?
 
Because I love to play "guitar".

Avatar
meme1337 4 years, 1 month ago

"Why would you like Guitar Hero Free?" - Well, because free is always nicer and at the moment i am without the iPhone 'cause i sold it in order to buy the new iPhone 4.

Avatar
ImaRetroMan 4 years, 1 month ago

OMG!! I read the news and was like "YES!!" I've always been a fan of Guitar Hero on the main console and would DEFINITELY not mind it on the go!!

Avatar
nielty 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like a free copy of Guitar Hero. because i love playing Guitar games  ROCK!!!!!!

Avatar
Dustin 4 years, 1 month ago

Currently, I don't really have a way to play Guitar Hero while sitting on the toilet at work. A free copy of the Guitar Hero app would offer me this luxury. Thanks!

Avatar
frosty955 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like Guitar Hero for free because I own almost all of the other Guitar Hero games and I love music games!

Avatar
dizzy99 4 years, 1 month ago

i want this game for free becauase i love these games

Avatar
dizzy99 4 years, 1 month ago

i would like guitar hero for free because i love these games, and i like jamming with these games

Avatar
holywilly 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like a free copy of Guitar Hero because I can rock with my favorite bands and get girl interested in me!!!

Avatar
holywilly 4 years, 1 month ago

Why would you like Guitar Hero Free?
I'd like it free because I'm a guitarist and I enjoy guitar hero series game on all video game console, including the iPhone platform! I've been expecting to have this title coming to the iPhone and it's like a dream come true! Yeah, Rock n' Roll, Yeah!

Avatar
stapeo 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like guitar hero on iphone for free because i dont think i will be able to buy it for a little while because of the price. :(

Avatar
Nejibana 4 years, 1 month ago

I must attain the Guitar Hero game to rule the iPhone music world. oh and probably i'll never be able to pay for this game. And i want to review this game.  YEAAAAAH!

Avatar
kiranb28 4 years, 1 month ago

I'd like to try out Guitar Hero for free because i'm a big fan of Music games. Tap Studio Pro is nice, but it's a bit dull in the graphics department. I'd like to compare the two games and would be willing to put up my thoughts as a review. Looking forward to trying this game out, thanks :)

Avatar
Merfairy 4 years, 1 month ago

This game looks really high quality, and I am a big fan of rhythm/music games! I would love to get it for free.
 

Avatar
Brandon2571 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like a free copy of Guitar Hero because I liked the console versions of the game and thought it was awesome that they ported it to the iPhone. I've been following this site for a few months now and enjoy the reviews and these giveaways would definitely be a good reason to stick around!

Avatar
Brandon2571 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like a free copy of Guitar Hero because I liked the console versions of the game and thought it was awesome that they ported it to the iPhone. I've been following this site for a few months now and enjoy the reviews and these giveaways would definitely be a good reason to stick around!

Avatar
mameroms 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like to get guitar hero for free because I am probably never going to pay for this game, because I already have TapTapRevenge 3, which is from the same genre and it's free.  me too

Avatar
mameroms 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like to get guitar hero for free because I am probably never going to pay for this game, because I already have TapTapRevenge 3, which is from the same genre and it's free.  me too

Avatar
Killer_Snowman256 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like Guitar Hero Free, because i loved it on the PS2 and would love to Jam out on the go!! Plus, this looks alot better than Tap Tap Revenge 3 and Rock Band and it would totally rock to have Guitar Hero for Free!!!

Avatar
kaboart 4 years, 1 month ago

Why would you like Guitar Hero Free? Simple, because it "ROCKS the cords off" all other music/tap/dance/band apps there are. Actually if I win this app, im going to delete all other apps from my ipod, cuz i just need this baby. Rock on 4ever!!

Avatar
Brandon2571 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like a free copy of Guitar Hero because I liked the console versions of the game and thought it was awesome that they ported it to the iPhone. I've been following this site for a few months now and enjoy the reviews and these giveaways would definitely be a good reason to stick around!

Avatar
guter 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like to get guitar hero for free because I am probably never going to pay for this game, because I already have TapTapRevenge 3, which is from the same genre and it's free.

Avatar
Jabberwocker85 4 years, 1 month ago

loved tap tap and guitar hero looks so much better, graphics wise and everything!

Avatar
Jabberwocker85 4 years, 1 month ago

it is also quite expensive, where i come from, thats 2.99 x 3.5...

Avatar
Tekoo 4 years, 1 month ago

Ok that might sound funny but I would like a free copy of guitar hero because I won't ever buy it at this price. I'm not a fan of this genre... The only game of this genre which i ever played was TapTapRevenge2 which was great as one of my first games, then boring.
I played guitar hero on PlayStation with that guitar control thingy, was fun but hard. This version looks like it has great graphics and gameplay. It's on my shortlist but I know myself, I won't ever buy it. So a free copy will be great for me to give it a good try. I have a US iTunes account to get free stuff, but I buy from the Australian App Store... So if I really love it, I'll buy it from the Australian App Store so that I can buy more songs for it...
Peace,
Tekoo

Avatar
whyMikewhy 4 years, 1 month ago

I would love a free copy of Guitar Hero for the iphone because I am a huge fan of music/rhythm games. I am a music producer that is currently studying audio production in college. This competition  has given me a huge incentive to start interacting with the app spy community. I I follow this website daily and am always impressed with the level of detail within each written/video review. Win or lose, My respect once again has gone up for this incredible website. I look forward to talking to members and of course more reviews!

Avatar
seanpham 4 years, 1 month ago

I love Guitar Hero on other platform and I've been waiting for this version on my iphone for a very long time !  Please make it free !!!  I'm a full time support for Guitar hero and have been paid "enough" to play it.

Avatar
iPhone 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like Guitar Hero free so I can rock out hard all night and day like my Hero Angus Young!

Avatar
Kevin7o3 4 years, 1 month ago

Hey Appspy, hopefully you'll see this comment and reply. Can you do a Mublip Giveaway? it looks Soo Fun and I really want to try it out!
P.S You dont have to give me the Guitar Hero. Let someone else take it

Avatar
iPhone 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like Guitar Hero free so I can rock out hard all night and day like my Hero Angus Young!

Avatar
seanpham 4 years, 1 month ago

I love Guitar Hero on other platform and I've been waiting for this version on my iphone for a very long time !  Please make it free !!!  I'm a full time support for Guitar hero and have been paid "enough" to play it.

Avatar
Chinchilla9 4 years, 1 month ago

I've never had any gaming consoles, the iPhone is the only device I have that allows me to play awesome games like these. I've seen people play guitar hero before and it seems really fun. I'd really like to try this game. :D

Avatar
KingRetroMan 4 years, 1 month ago

I badly want this game,
So much it's driving me insane.
It's made Tap Tap,
Look Like Crap.
...Sadly my funds are low, therefore could I have it for free please?

Avatar
chrisprender 4 years, 1 month ago

I'd like a free copy of Guitar Hero because I'm interested in seeing for myself how the franchise makes the transition from console accessory hardware to the touchscreen.

Avatar
JuniorTV 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like to get Guitar Hero free because its so fun to play on consoles, and it would be even better to play it on my iPhone! The gameplay on the review is amazing, and I can already tell that I will get addicted to the game!

Avatar
ratof13 4 years, 1 month ago

I would like a free copy of Guitar Hero because I like to rock out. With it on my iPod Touch I can do that on the move. Help me to rock.