Important information

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to Steel Media's privacy policy.

Steel Media websites use two types of cookie: (1) those that enable the site to function and perform as required; and (2) analytical cookies which anonymously track visitors only while using the site. If you are not happy with this use of these cookies please review our Privacy Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies some features of the site will not work.


Galaxy on Fire 2™ Review

By , on October 26, 2010


Galaxy on Fire 2™
  • Publisher: FISHLABS
  • Genre: Adventure
  • Released: 27 Oct, 2010
  • Size: 419.5 MB
  • Price: FREE!
Download on the AppStore
5 out of 5

PROS

  • Epic storyline with tonnes of side-missions.
  • Huge game world with detailed environments.
  • Streamlined control system with tilt options.
  • Retina ready.

CONS

  • Auto-pilot not always a safe option.

VERDICT

Galaxy on Fire 2 tries to bring a console level of content to the App Store in a genre that guarantees a huge amount of gameplay time even before factoring any side-missions you partake in.


  • Full Review
  • App Store Info
  •  

UPDATE (17th Feb, 2012): With update after update pushing Galaxy on Fire 2 further and further forward, there's no question that this title represents the best the platform has to offer in the Privateer-style of games currently available. From its numerous tweaks including visual overhauls and content updates (with Valkyrie), you'd be hard pressed to find a better example of the genre for handheld devices. As such a score deserving of these updates has now been awarded to Galaxy on Fire 2.

Galaxy on Fire 2 by FISHLABS isn't lacking for scope, indeed it challenges the established 'short and sweet' style that has dominated the App Store, but when a game tries to tackle something as complicated as an interstellar sandbox it's going to be the small things that get under your skin.

Something that may be overlooked by some is just how smooth the transition between badass space pirate to galaxy faring trader can be thanks to the streamlined controls. Depending on your ships equipment you will be able to scan areas for valuable ore or salvage and should thing heat up you can break off and engage your enemies instantly. However, the streamlining can get in the way of the combat and without more control over the speed of your ship and variety of weaponry the fights become a bland mix of seemingly low-speed twists and turns followed by short bursts of whatever exotic weapon you have equipped.

The true meat of the game comes in following the story of Keith Maxwell as he explores a large and complex galaxy filled with dangers. The variety of environments is wonderful and even without exploring all the game has to offer you'll be set for hours wasting time on trading and improving your diplomacy with various factions.

Other smaller issues like having the autopilot slam you in to the occasional asteroid or losing precious ore to a random swing of the drill can pull you out of the moment as well, but it's the voice acting that really gets jarring only a couple hours in. Still, Galaxy on Fire 2 aims for the stars and despite small questionable moments it succeeds in creating an epic world filled with adventure. Worth grabbing if you're after something with real lasting power.

Screenshots

Screenshot 1 of 9 Screenshot 2 of 9 Screenshot 3 of 9 Screenshot 4 of 9 Screenshot 5 of 9 Screenshot 6 of 9 Screenshot 7 of 9 Screenshot 8 of 9 Screenshot 9 of 9

Comments

Avatar
GrapeJuiice 3 years, 10 months ago

I think the controls are very bad, the tilt scheme is not very sensative, and i thought that F.A.S.T. set the standard for tilt to fly games. The controls stick  just doesn't suit my needs. I wanted to like this game, but the controls ruined it for me. 

Avatar
FalloutNewVegas 3 years, 9 months ago

Now it does have weird ship controls and this is probably because they wanted you to feel like your in space but I have to agree with you. The controls are a bit, I don't know...too sluggish for the gameplay to be fully satisfying, BUT I don't think this completely ruins the game like you stated. Its still a solid game.

Avatar
dobre2 3 years, 10 months ago

this game is an epic space-RPG it works incredbly smooth on 1-st generation iphone(you can also adjust the grafic quality), and it looks fantastic!!

Avatar
FalloutNewVegas 3 years, 10 months ago

Yeah I actually requested that review yesterday =p. Doesn't matter though because there isn't much sense in doing it since not many people will be buying it after this is released.

Avatar
andrew 3 years, 10 months ago

It was scheduled, but unfortunately due to being off work sick for two days over the last fortnight I kind of had to make some last minute schedule changes >< Ah well - at least this review got out on time ;)

Avatar
FalloutNewVegas 3 years, 10 months ago

Ahh I was waiting for this one. Thanks for the review you made my day =D!

Avatar
andrew 3 years, 10 months ago

Not a problem! I'm only disappointed we didn't get to review the original first D: