Important information

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to Steel Media's privacy policy.

Steel Media websites use two types of cookie: (1) those that enable the site to function and perform as required; and (2) analytical cookies which anonymously track visitors only while using the site. If you are not happy with this use of these cookies please review our Privacy Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies some features of the site will not work.


World of Goo Review

By , on April 15, 2011


World of Goo
  • Publisher: 2D BOY
  • Genre: Family
  • Released: 14 Apr, 2011
  • Size: 93.2 MB
  • Price: $2.99
Download on the AppStore
5 out of 5

PROS

  • Breathtakingly diverse world to explore; vibrant and unique at every turn.
  • Charming music and sound-effects add richness to the game world.
  • Deep, complex gameplay married with easy to pick up and play controls.
  • Original iPad version now Universal.

CONS

  • Smaller screen not entirely offset by zoom feature.

VERDICT

World of Goo for iPhone and iPod Touch devices is almost everything fans of the original could want and those who are yet to try out this puzzling feast will be blown away by the deep, touching gameplay that grips you until the end; an easy must buy.


  • Full Review
  • App Store Info
  •  

NOTE: While our site is still indicating the initial discount price of $0.99, the App has returned to its full price of $2.99 as of 15th April 2011.

There are few games as easy to recommend for your desktop PC as World of Goo by 2D BOY; while there are similar titles that could be considered more challenging, the charming story and presentation of this game goes a long way to absorb and lock players in. Its eventual release on the iPad was a boon for the iOS device and a great way to experience this game on the go. Sadly, iPhone and iPod Touch users were left in the cold, but a Universal update and a separate iPhone/iTouch App have recently launched to spread the love even further.

Your adventure in World of Goo starts out with a simple task of utilizing semi-sentient blobs of Goo to form tenuous rubbery structures with the intent of helping a set amount of blobs to escape. Building structures is as simple as tapping and dragging a Goo blob from the level and placing them near other blobs to form a chain. Initially the task is fairly simple, however as the story progresses you'll need to explore the strengths and weaknesses new varieties of Goo in order to succeed. The sheer variety of challenges to overcome is almost overwhelming, but players will find themselves attempting to conquer puzzles that range from something as simple as building a bridge to complex challenges like creating a Goo airship. Most levels allow players to correct mistakes by reversing 'time' by a few seconds, but careful planning and judicious use of a pinch-to-zoom feature will save you more times than not.

The necessity of a zoom feature highlights one of the few weaknesses of playing World of Goo on a smaller iDevice, namely the speed and accuracy with which you can place each ball of Goo. It's certainly not game breaking, but being able to quickly and accurately select, drag and place Goo makes later challenges (and many OCD bonus challenges) much easier and spending several seconds shaking off the wrong Goo ball over and over can be annoying.

Thankfully this really is only a minor concern and one that is covered well by patience, a bit of practice and the game's stunning and absorbing world. Each individual Goo ball coos, burbles and squeaks depending on their type and how you're currently manipulating them, while also changing in appearance depending on how they're utilized in a larger structure. All of this is bundled in to a world that's vibrant and alive with plenty of unique challenges based on the environment you're in and several twists that even end up with players fighting in the 'digital' world. Should you get bored with the campaign you can try your hand at being ranked globally by building a tower-of-babel with the Goos you have emancipated.

While many hardcore gamers are likely to have played World of Goo by now (it is a three year old game after all), those who have not experienced this stunning title should definitely do so as soon as they get a chance. What starts out as a casual puzzle game quickly becomes a compelling and emotional roller-coaster following the plight of these Goo-ey creatures as they seek their freedom.

Screenshots

Screenshot 1 of 10 Screenshot 2 of 10 Screenshot 3 of 10 Screenshot 4 of 10 Screenshot 5 of 10 Screenshot 6 of 10 Screenshot 7 of 10 Screenshot 8 of 10 Screenshot 9 of 10 Screenshot 10 of 10

Comments

Avatar
wiking 3 years, 6 months ago

great game :) i like it...

Avatar
JoelTGM 3 years, 7 months ago

hell yeah I love World of Goo, getting this for iphone now.

Avatar
GiHubb 3 years, 7 months ago

I htought the version for the iphone is really lacking - the fact that your finger covers the blob, instead of having the blob perhaps being a bit above, obscures the view and what you're trying to do. I was constantly peaking around my finger. On the iPad this isn't a problem as the blobs are big enough. If you don't have an iPad, and only consider running this on a smaller screen, I would skip it.

Avatar
dund17 3 years, 7 months ago

They did the best they could, and I love it!

Avatar
FalloutNewVegas 3 years, 7 months ago

Getting a new ipod to play this!!!

Avatar
iphoner 3 years, 7 months ago

not meaning to be a buzzkill here, but you wrote some comments on infinity blade degrading one of my favorite games you couldnt have possibly played if youre geting a new ipod to play this.
and andrew: it says "now $2.99, was $.99. save 80%." that CANT be right.

Avatar
FalloutNewVegas 3 years, 7 months ago

First of all my brother has a 3G ipod which I get the chance to play (although not that much). He bought infinity blade and let me have a go to show me how amazing it is. Unfortuantely I didn't feel the same way he did about it. I can't get world of goo on his ipod because, there was a news post on appspy warning it i only compatible with 3GS and 4G which means my since my brother does not have a 3GS I cannot get it.
Also there seems to be a bug on the site that makes every app you see say save 80%.

Avatar
iphoner 3 years, 7 months ago

okay, thats cool, didnt mean to insult you.