Important information

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to Steel Media's privacy policy.

Steel Media websites use two types of cookie: (1) those that enable the site to function and perform as required; and (2) analytical cookies which anonymously track visitors only while using the site. If you are not happy with this use of these cookies please review our Privacy Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies some features of the site will not work.


Icebreaker: A Viking Voyage HD Review

By , on June 24, 2013
Last modified 1 year ago


Icebreaker: A Viking Voyage (Universal)
  • Publisher: Nitrome
  • Genre: Puzzle
  • Released: 20 Jun, 2013
  • Size: 44.2 MB
  • Price: $2.99
Download on the AppStore
5 out of 5

PROS

  • An inventive combination of physics mechanics.
  • Beautifully presented.
  • Vikings characters are surprisingly entertaining.
  • Levels demand to be revisited.

CONS

  • God powers only available via IAP.

VERDICT

Bursting with clever level design and creativity, this physics-puzzler is a cut above the competition.


  • Full Review
  • App Store Info

Physics puzzlers: there's a ton of 'em about. One's got birds in. It's quite popular. Now there's another one. It's got some birds in too. But mostly ice. Ice and Vikings. And birds. It's called Icebreaker: A Viking Voyage. We think its dead good. Here's why.

Icebreaker: A Viking Voyage is like a really good sandwich. It provides you with a nourishing core, surrounded by a bunch of easily digestible, but thoroughly satisfying layers.

At its frosty heart, it's a game about slicing ice. Having been scattered to the wind by... some wind, your viking comrades are in need of rescue. Naturally, this task has fallen to you and your chop-happy fingers. To guide your bearded buddies onto the awaiting ship, you must bend the chilly environment to your will. Your primary trick is swipe through blocks of ice. Cut it at the right angle, and the ice mass will break apart and begin to slide - hopefully in the direction of the rescue ship.

Once you've mastered this interplay of ice, gradients, and gravity, the game starts introducing other variables. Man-eating trolls appear, ready to chow down on passing warriors. With the trolls comes levels coated in a sticky snot-like substance. This goo will stop sliding ice in its tracks, but can be detached with a quick swipe. Before long, you'll be harnessing the winged power of birds to reunite your Scandinavian gang.

Though we've seen the cutting mechanic before in other physics puzzlers, developer Nitrome has used it in a really creative way. What's more, when the other elements come into play (trolls, birds, water etc.) you'll have to really flex your lateral thinking muscles to come up with a solution.

To unlock levels, you must to complete each stage within a set number of swipes. This 'par' system forces you to be extra cautious in order to maximise the effect of every slice.

You can also buy so-called 'God powers' via in-app purchases. Though not essential, powers like the God Finger (which lets you drag a viking freely around the screen) make it far easier to complete certain levels. You can only get them by spending money, though, which we think is a bit a shame.

However, the game's inventive puzzles, handsome quasi-retro art style, and surprisingly amusing scripting render this IAP stinginess a minor annoyance. Its levels demand to be replayed so you can all the treasure chests or lower your swipe count, and you'll be more than happy to oblige. If you're peckish for a new physics puzzler packed with frosty goodness, then we recommend you have a slice of Icebreaker.

Screenshots

Screenshot 1 of 5 Screenshot 2 of 5 Screenshot 3 of 5 Screenshot 4 of 5 Screenshot 5 of 5

Comments

Avatar
Yorker 5 months ago

Can't wait for next RovioStars game!

Avatar
tommyd 1 year ago

I loved this game. there's a good number of levels and it's not too difficult to get frustrating but not too simple to not struggle with getting all the stars.
The down side is the "God powers" are only available with IAP, which to me is a massive down side.

Avatar
Jonman 1 year ago

would the review be different for the iphone version of the game?

Avatar
DarkScience 1 year ago

Interesting you say that, I got the iPhone version and thought the graphics weren't as crisp as I was expecting them to be - a bit blocky and old school. Watching a few you tube videos I think they probably are a little - but the iPad version is still a little blocky too - think it was a design thing!

Avatar
dare 1 year ago

Strategy games are not boring, it's just that you have low thinking capacity thats why you get bored easily. I see this game a challenging one that makes your brain twist looking for ways to slice the ice. This is a really nice game.
<a href="http://www.increasefacebookfans.org/">buy facebook like</a>

Avatar
DarkScience 1 year ago

I agree, strategy games really work your mind and make you think, they are generally slow paced which is why some don't get into them. Thats true for Leviathan WS or Frozen Synapse. But for this game, which I picked on on the phone yesterday, I think is really interesting - it does make you think outside the box and it is quite funny. not really slow though and quite challenging if you want to collect the box and get all the coins too. Still, guess every one is different!!

Avatar
makedonii 1 year ago

tbh i didnt like it as other do, i fount it boring and monotonous. i know it sound weard but i got bored with it after 20-30min.

Avatar
DarkScience 1 year ago

like it - one for the phone I think! Does any one else wish more games used iCloud? Makes so much sense to me - play on phone at work / train etc. then on iPad when your at home!