Important information

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to Steel Media's privacy policy.

Steel Media websites use two types of cookie: (1) those that enable the site to function and perform as required; and (2) analytical cookies which anonymously track visitors only while using the site. If you are not happy with this use of these cookies please review our Privacy Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies some features of the site will not work.

Crimsonland HD Review

By , on November 20, 2014
Last modified 3 years, 4 months ago

Crimsonland HD
Download on the AppStore
3 out of 5


  • Perk system adds a huge amount of tactical nuance and variety to the gunplay
  • Blasting beasties is still fun after all this time


  • Controls feel initially gluey
  • Campaign is less fun that the survival modes


Crimsonland HD is an acceptable twin-stick shooter elevated by a varied and expansive perk system.

  • Full Review
  • App Store Info

Giant spiders. Zombie lurkers. Weird greed lizard men that look like they've escaped from a particularly cheap and wonky episode of Doctor Who.

You'll find all these creatures and more in the iOS port of decade-old twin-stick shooter Crimsonland. And yes, you'll get to shoot them all with a variety of weird and wonderful weapons.

Check out the carnage in Crimsonland HD video review above.


Screenshot 1 of 10 Screenshot 2 of 10 Screenshot 3 of 10 Screenshot 4 of 10 Screenshot 5 of 10 Screenshot 6 of 10 Screenshot 7 of 10 Screenshot 8 of 10 Screenshot 9 of 10 Screenshot 10 of 10


SmallBonez 3 years, 3 months ago

Cool! I played the hell out of this on PC.

SumoSplash 3 years, 4 months ago

Three?! THREE James?! Completely disagree on that my friend. 5/5.

xeroxeroxero 3 years, 4 months ago

Why 5/5 for you SumoSplash? What about it do you think pushes it into those hallowed grounds?

SumoSplash 3 years, 3 months ago

Oh, everything. The weapons are fantastic in more ways than I can count. The perk system is expansive and creative and really does a lot for pushing the gameplay in a direction that empowers the player. The backgrounds are plain so each death and the resulting spray pattern can remain on screen for the duration of the round, which means your kills are basically MAKING the graphics as you play. The frame rates are high and stable. There is a generous demo of the game that really shows what the game is about, with a full unlock and no other bullshit consumable IAP. The controls are more than suitable. No, this is far from three stars. I can barely count a flaw in the game. At the least it's a four star game and not a star tip point lower.

Of course I still love James and his quirky mannerisms and silly facial expressions nonetheless.

xeroxeroxero 3 years, 3 months ago

Oh we all love James for that :D Thanks for your counterpoints, great to hear you're liking the game!

SumoSplash 3 years, 3 months ago

Actually, it seems as though we agree on the strengths of the game, but we were moved differently by what the overall experience offered. One thing I will say though, is I recommend that 10Ton redo the cover pic, considering there is no dual wield in the game, nor any elevated, rolling landscapes :)

SumoSplash 3 years, 3 months ago

Peter, tell James to spend a little extra time with Blitz mode. It's like Survival but on steroids (similar to Hardcore mode in Minigore 2). The extra speed also makes the controls feel less (cue James' favorite word) 'gluey' than the general feel of the other modes :) Rush, Weapon Picker and Nukefism are all cool in their own way, but Blitz is the mode that really kicks things up a notch in terms of intensity and, for me, overall fun factor.

SumoSplash 3 years, 3 months ago

Go to:


Scroll manually to the bottom of the screen. Tap on where it says "There is something hidden here" repeatedly.