Spooky point-and-click adventure series Blackwell out now on iPhone and iPad

By , on July 10, 2014
Last modified 10 years ago

Blackwell is a classic point-and-click adventure series from Wadjet Eye, the first three parts of which have just materialised on the App Store.

Rosa Blackwell has a relatively normal life. That is, until her aunt dies and she inherits Joey Mallone, a spirit guide that has been in her family for generations.

Joey is a classic '40s film noir private eye, who just so happens to grant Rosa the power to communicate with the dead.

Subscribe to AppSpy on

You take control of both Rosa and Joey. Traveling through New York City, it is up to you solve supernatural mysteries by talking to the ghosts and spirits that fill the world.

Point-and-click controls guide the duo around the game's 2D environments, which prove more than a little reminiscent of genre classics like Monkey Island.

The series actually comprises five episodes in total. The first three (Legacy, Unbound, and Convergence) were originally released on PC between 2006 and 2009, and hit the App Store yesterday. We expect that the final two parts (Deception and Epiphany) will be join them soon.

You can pick up the Blackwell 1: Legacy from the App Store now for £1.49 / $1.99, with both Unbound and Convergence each costing £1.49 / $1.99.

App Store links:

Blackwell 1: Legacy 

Blackwell 2: Unbound

Blackwell 3: Convergence